Virat Kohli and Steve Smith have been at each other's throats over the issue
India levelled the series at 1-1 with a 75-run win as Australia crumbled in the fourth innings in Bengaluru.
The pitch disintegrated and Smith was one of the surface's victims when a delivery from Umesh Yadav shot low into his boot and trapped him LBW.
The Australia captain consulted partner Peter Handscomb as to whether he should review the decision and then turned to the dressing room for advice, which is not allowed under the laws of the game.
The 20 greatest Test cricketers of all-time
Sat, November 14, 2015
Express Sport takes a look at the greatest ever Test cricketers
1 of 20
Wasim Akram: Together with Waqar Younis he invented and perfected the art of reverse-swing, proving that bowling on dead, concrete-like pitches in the sub-continent can be overcome
Umpire Nigel Long and Kohli both intervened and the India captain later accused the Australians of systematically trying to get around the rules.
However, the cricket establishment have closed ranks in the face of the accusations.
“I find the allegations questioning the integrity of Steve Smith, the Australian team and the dressing room, outrageous,” said Sutherland.
Get Quotes on Home Insurance
Virat Kohli immediately complained to umpire Nigel Long about Steve Smith's actions
India captain Virat Kohli celebrated an emotional victory for his side in the four-match series
“Steve is an outstanding cricketer and person, and role model to many aspiring cricketers and we have every faith that there was no ill-intent in his actions.
“We reject any commentary that suggests our integrity was brought into disrepute or that systemic unfair tactics are used, and stand by Steve and the Australian cricketers who are proudly representing our country.”
Kohli was visibly angry on the field and celebrated in Josh Hazelwood's face when victory was finally sealed.
And while he stopped short of accusing the Australians of cheating, he was keen to point out that he did not believe Smith's excuse that the move was a "brain fade".
"If something is going on for three days, then that's not a brain fade, as simple as that," Kolhi said.
"This has to stop, because there's a line that you don't cross on the cricket field.
"I don't want to mention the [cheating] word, but it falls in that bracket.
"I would never do something like that on the cricket field."