How to check who's bee spying on your account
If you can't get enough of your Facebook feed it's likely that you've logged on to check it on numerous computers, smartphones and tablets.
There's no problem with posting your latest adventure from any machine you happen to come across as long as you remember to log off.
Not hitting the sign out button could mean the next person who uses the device gets full access to your entire page.
Don't think this is you as you always sign out? You might be surprised to find out just how many devices your Facebook page is live on.
Luckily there's a very easy way to check and an even more simple way to log out of every machine you no longer use.
Here's how to do it.
5 smartphone apps you couldn't live without
Fri, July 10, 2015
Facebook, Instagram, WhatsApp, Google Maps and Spotify are the five smartphone apps
you couldn't live without
1 of 24
Facebook is the number one app. Every second 20,000 people are on Facebook
HOW TO SEE IF SOMEONE'S LOOKING AT YOUR FACEBOOK ACCOUNT
If you're using Facebook on either your smartphone or desktop PC/laptop, then you need to go to Settings > Security > Where you're logged in.
Once you've accessed this menu you'll get a view of just how many machines you're currently logged in on.
When Express.co.uk checked our settings we found we were logged in on 15 devices – some of which weren't even in the UK.
If you find yourself in the same position, Facebook offers far more than just a list of devices assigned to your account.
As well as being able to see the type of device – desktop, iPhone or Android – you're logged in with, and the IP address used to access the social service, you can also see the location of the device and even, to the minute, the exact last time this machine was used to access your account.
Although most of these logons are likely to be innocent cases of old computers or phones no longer in use, it's worth checking that every machine you don't ever use is logged out.
HOW TO STOP PEOPLE SNOOPING ON YOUR FACEBOOK PAGE
If you notice any strange activity on your account, thankfully, there's a way to easily log out of devices you no longer use and you don't have to be anywhere near computer or smartphone that's causing you trouble.
On Facebook's desktop settings, clicking the 'End activity' option next to each sign on will automatically kill the connection, sign you out and disassociate your login from that machine.
On mobile you can achieve the same by clicking the little 'x' icon.
This is a cure to an existing problem rather than preventative measures for future troubles though.
Facebook users should check which machines they have left their page open on
WhatsApp backdoor security flaw allows YOUR private messages to be …
Facebook could soon try to read your mind
HOW TO PROTECT YOURSELF IN THE FUTURE
If you want to see who might be looking at your account in the future, and stop them at the source, there are ways of achieving this.
Firstly, you can set up log-in alerts. These will notify you whenever someone other than yourself attempts to use your details to log in to Facebook, no matter what machine they're using or where.
To set this up you'll need to visit Settings > Security > Login Alerts on either your computer or phone.
Still not satisfied with your safety? You can build on these alerts with login approvals which require secondary approval before any attempted logins are allowed to go through.
To turn these on, you'll need to point your machine towards Settings > Security > Login Approvals and turn this on. Once activated, login codes will be sent to your phone when you legitimately want to login on a new machine.
With all of this activated, only those you really want to see your Facebook activity will be able to see it.